The 2007 NYS Energy Conservation Code is based on the 2003 IECC and has several compliance paths.

Projects are divided into residential buildings 3 or less stories in height (residential), and residential buildings over three stories in height and all other buildings (commercial).

Compliance for residential is either through a NYS ECC (IECC) prescriptive path which addresses lighting, HVAC, envelope, and DHW, and which can be checked through a program such as REScheck, or through two-dimensional modeling programs such as eQUEST 3.6. The former is generally more restrictive.

Compliance for commercial is either through the two alternative paths in the preceding paragraph, or through compliance with ASHRAE 90.1 (2004), which also has both a prescriptive compliance path and a two-dimensional modeling compliance path.

ASHRAE 90.1 defines climatic zones across the country; NYS is covered by three zones, Zone 6 and Zone 5 for the majority of the state except for the area immediately around NYC, which is Zone 4. All three are “Moist, (A)”. Note the mediating affect of the large lakes on temperature, so that Buffalo falls into Zone 5, not 6.

The prescriptive envelope requirements for Zone 5 are:

Construction photo of Port Authority building, cladding design by S. Behar


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: